hotel customer service customer service price room reservation money book refund

Shame on You | Priceline review from Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

I rented a vehicle for my eldery inlaws travelling with their 86 yr old mother. They were meeting us in Mrytle Beach for our first ever family trip. Grandma was having diabetic issues the day of the trip and in rushing to the airport, my father in law forgot his license and when they got to the airport in MB, they were not allowed to rent the vehicle. Even thought my mother in law was the one the reservation was under. Numerous calls were made to Priceline over two hours and yet they would not budge and the rental company could do nothing since it was a Priceline reservation. Grandmas medicine was at the condo we were in and she was starting an attack yet Priceline did not care. I had to pay with my credit card over the phone for another rental and have been trying since June to get them their $200 back. I wrote the VP of the company for rental cars and only some secretary wrote me back and said the same thing as all the calls. I understand it was our error gramps did not bring his card, but given the circumstances I believe an exception can be made. I manage a call center and make exceptions from time to time so dont give me there are NONE. Do not use Priceline. What kind of company leaves the elderly out on a limb with medical problems, regardless of whose fault it was. Shame on you Priceline.
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#1034000

Once they make one exception, they have to make exceptions for all. Personal accountability people!!

Anonymous
#1032660

So why didn't your Mother In-Law just drive until they left the lot? I your meeting them in MB, then why didn't you go get them?

How is any of this Priceline's fault? Own your mistakes, move on.

View more comments (1)
Review
#689677 Review #689677 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Bad customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Full refund

Don't waste your time! | Priceline review

1.0
Details
I reserved a room for the weekend of August 14-16. I received a confirmation number and a trip number. Two days before my trip I received another email with my itinerary and confirmation number again. We drove to our destination to enjoy our state fair for the weekend. After a very long, hot day at the fair, we went to check into our motel at 8:45pm. After telling the clerk my name and giving them my credit card and ID card, they frantically searched for our reservation. I then gave them my printed email with my trip number and confirmation number. They did not have a room for us. I called Priceline immediately and they put me on hold and then eventually asked me to wait for a call back so they could get this issue resolved. Finally after about an hour of waiting, they informed me that they could do nothing. They told me that they talked to the motel's corporate office and they stated they had the confirmation number it's just for some reason the motel itself never made the reservation. I had to make the long trip home with my two young cranky children and I was completely exhausted, stressed out and nearly falling asleep at the wheel. A few days later, still upset with the situation, I called the motel. They informed me that they do not have a corporation, they are privately owned. So priceline was not truthful in telling me that they talked to the corporation. Priceline led me to believe that the motel booked our room out from under us, which wasn't the case at all. The motel manager told me that they called them begging for the motel to find a room for us, the motel was completely booked so they couldn't. I wouldn't trust this company for booking motel rooms if you actually want one! If you have already booked a room, call the hotel to make sure they have the reservation.
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#1034005

I am so sorry that this happened to you. :( As a hotel manager, it is very frustrating to see Priceline do this to good people like yourself.

Hotels do not like Priceline, to be honest. They are not very truthful with their business practices.

Anonymous
#1032665

I agree - Shame on Priceline!

View more comments (1)
Review
#689596 Review #689596 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Reimbursement for the inconvenience of their screw up

Nightmare booking with Priceline.com

1.0
Details
8/17/2015 I was trying to book a room in sault Saint Marie, MI at the Days Inn. On the site it told me it would be $62.00 per night for 5 Nights. After being told the total and took my CC Info I was put on hold as he said they were having trouble processing. After a brief time he came back & said he must of gotten a # wrong. I then gave him my card # again and he ran it and said no problem he had found the mistake. This whole ordeal probably took about 15 Minutes. I was the told everything should be good to go he even read my check in & check out dates back and all other info. Good to go right, Nope he then came back 7 told me the rate had increased by $20.00 a night. I told him that was unacceptable, he put me on hold once again and came back and told me he would give me a call back in 5 minutes. An hour later I called them back and of course someone different. After explaining all this to her I was put on hold and she never returned. I called back again and explained to yet another person. I at this point 2 to 3 hours later am very angry at the whole ordeal. The last person I spoke with told me she could not give me her supervisors Name or Number. This was going to be a vacation to relieve some much needed stress. by the time I got done with all the BS with priceline, I no longer had a room available. What a crock. Worst experience online and on the phone ever. What can I do? Thanks for reading and please do not use them.
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1032667

Why people book over the phone with an online company, I'll never know. Nothing recorded - no paper trail.

Review
#687961 Review #687961 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Any
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$400
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Priceline Deal, Currency issue

1.0
Details
Here is a chat with Priceline customer service: Peter: Hi, David! Thanks for choosing to chat with us today. How may I help you?David : Hi. I am very disappointed with your serviceDavid : I just got off the phone with your customer service. there is nothing they can do to cancel my hotel reservationDavid : trip number: 413-982-xxx-xxPeter: I'm sorry you lost the connection with the previous agent. Don't worry, I should be able to pull up the conversation. Can you please provide the trip number?Peter: Thank you so much for that information. Allow me a moment as I pull up your reservation and verify this information. Thanks.David : I place a bid of $155cdn couple of days ago for a 4 star hotel in macau . I received an email to try again so I clicked the try again button and entered $155. Assuming it was still in $C but it switched to usd and took my offer.David : I did not realized the usd payment until too late. Now I am trying to cancel but I was told that is not possible. Peter: Thank you for letting us know about this, David. Please give me one moment as I verify that information in my system. Thanks.David : when I clicked the try again button, I assumed that I was still bidding in Canadian dollars.David : there must be a problem with the software that handles this bidding process.Peter: I'm so sorry for the confusion. Please bear with me as I further review this information.David : I can email you the email that I received from priceline. it clearly indicates that I was bidding in cdn currency.Peter: I understand your concern, David, you were charged in the currency shown on the contract page you initialed prior to purchase. The charge on your credit card may differ from the amount we displayed on the website depending on the exchange rates at the time of booking. Your bank may also charge a currency conversion fee. In the event your reservation is cancelled and we issue a credit, we will refund in the currency that was initially charged.David : so there is nothing you can do to cancel this reservation?David : I am willing to switch to a cheaper hotelPeter: I understand you’re not satisfied with our policies, David; however, prior to purchase, you were asked to review your reservation, including the terms associated with cancellations or changes. When you purchased your reservation you agreed to those terms.David : well. the "Price in USD" is not very obviousPeter: I know this contrary from what you were expecting, however, we are really unable to modify or cancel your reservation. Prior to booking, we displayed our policy using our Important Information section.Peter: I wish I am able to provide you a more favorable resolution; however, your reservation is truly restricted and it remains non-refundable.Peter: David, It’s clear that you don't find the policy acceptable; however, there are no other options I can offer that would result in a different outcome for your issue. Please chat back with us again if you need assistance on another matter. I’d like to thank you for chatting with us today. Enter chat text here, press enter to send Images LogoAgent ImagePowered by Oracle
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#1023478

Perhaps next time you'll take the time to read and understand the terms and conditions of a legally binding contract BEFORE entering it. It's really not that difficult.

Anonymous
#1108077
@PissedConsumer1023478

I've just had the exact same issue. To problem here is that the norm is for booking sites to adjust the currency based on your location (using your I address).

Priceline is the only booking site I've used that doesn't do this.

It is not made clear in the checkout process that funds are in USA instead of the consumers currency. Even in the email receipt it says nothing about which currency it is being issued.

View more comments (1)
Review
#687487 Review #687487 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Pricing issue
Loss
$373
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Don't use....made the mistake once | Priceline review from Dare County, North Carolina

1.0
Details
Booked a hotel with them and while they stated the hotel cannot guarantee bed type, if booking for one person you would think they would provide one bed in the room. There was a notation that you could call the hotel for specific room requests and I did that. The hotel told me that since I did that online they couldn't help me. I called Priceline and they tried to help me but advised the hotel was busy to call back in 30 minutes. Called back in 30 minutes and I was told to call them back in 15 minutes. Called them back in 15 minutes and I was told to call back in 30 minutes. I was given the run around and on the day of check in before I arrived at the hotel I called them again and was told I could change the bed type but it would be at an additional $100.00 cost. I will never, ever, ever, use Priceline again due to their poor customer service. Each time I called I had an extremely difficult time due to language barrier understanding the person answering the call. Not sure if they outsource their customer service but as I said before, never again. I have choices and it definately will not be PRICELINE!!!
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1032678

"hotel cannot guarantee bed type" Yeah that's real hard to understand isn't? Sound like they guaranteed you a room and you got it.

Review
#687383 Review #687383 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
1.0
Details
Misleading dishonest false advertisement has got to stop  - Priceline review
Misleading dishonest false advertisement has got to stop  - Priceline review
It seems harder and harder to trust what you read since companies like Priceline can delibrately mislead customers without consequence. I booked a room after referring to pricelines 1 star and 2 star example hotels. I knew I didn't want days inn or rodeway inn since my...
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1032674

You picked from 1 and 2 star hotels? Priceline is the least of your problems.

Review
#686062 Review #686062 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Poor phone service
  • False advertisement
  • Placed on hold multiple times
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$5500
Preferred solution
Full refund
Tags
  • RUDE MANAGER
  • Priceline Dismissed Complaint
1.0
Details
I am currently having my priceline nightmare . I booked a round trip flight from SFO TO BILLINGS MT AND LESS THAN 5MIN. AFTER MAKING THE RESERVATIONS I CONTACTED PRICELINE TO INFORM THEM THAT THE RESERVATIONS SHOULD HAVE BEEN MADE TO BELGRADE MT WHICH IS TWO HOUR...
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#1032671

$35 and you could have avoided all this. Yeah, it's you.

View more comments
Review
#682915 Review #682915 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Priceline Flight Booking
Cons
  • Stole my money
Reason of review
Order processing issue

My multi-day multi-hour International Phone call ORDEAL with Pricelying | Priceline review from São Paulo, State Of São Paulo

1.0
Details
My 2-day 12-hour+ International phone number ordeal with the WORST customer service I have ever dealt with, Priceline. I hope after reading this you never use Priceline again. (PriceLYING) 3rd Call to Priceline *Sam:* "[Telling me what I already know.]" -After multiple calls to the airline i was told Priceline is misleading me and WILL give me a full refund.- "Call the airline back and get the Agent name, agents number, Location." "Just following the fare rules" in an overly innocent tone. *Airline (third call):* "Priceline will say whatever to avoid this, they have been doing this for years, trust me" "Ticket Revelations" "TAM has nothing to do with this" "Priceline has full capability to change and alter the ticket, without cost" 4th call to Priceline *Maxwell:* "Checking the fare regulations" "There my be fees imposed by the Airline (Not true)" -on hold for several minutes as they find information I already know the answer too- "[more lies about how the airline has to do something on their end, and that I have to pay $100+ to do a simple alteration on a ticket I already have, that Priceline has full control over]" -I tell them I have a very long facebook post with all of their names on it that I am going to post on Priceline's wall- ... "I'm going to foward you to a specialist to see what we can do" *Dan (Priceline 'Specialist' Superior)* Reviewing my reservation Mumbling fine print rules into my ear "We will not be able to do this, it is the airline's rules" (Not True) "I am going to get a TAM representative on the phone" -Ok put me on that call- "Alright, just wait on hold for 5 minutes" "Don't hang up" -Oh I'm not hanging up "So the Airline representative has told me this is possible but with a fee" -Why was I not on the phone call?--"I cannot pay those fees, I need Priceline to either waive them or to pay them for me. This is a company that made $3,000,000+ last year in profit and has $14,000,000+ in assets. (talk about greedy!) "Oh um it is a private number.. no customers allowed, only for business (I KID YOU NOT) -What is so private about my ticket?- "Um.." - I need you to call the number the Airline has given me to give to you in case you don't understand your own capabilities, and I need you to put me on that call- "This number is the same number I have" -Well then I don't see what's so private about it if I have the same number- "Ok let's call the number and we will have a conference call" --- May I just add I NEVER do this, but this has to do with my VISA expiring and so it was is very urgent and important --- "She doesn't want to be put on a conference call with you" -OK then give me your name and transfer me to her line" "- Dan A4 Supervisor Manila Philippines" *Airline representative* -I tell her my exact issue- "Oh now I understand, so you will have to contact the agency (Priceline) in order to do this, we cannot do anything on our part, the ticket is booked with Priceline." 5th Call with Pricelying *"Cassandra" (sounds a whole lot like Maxwell...)* Tells me what I already know -So transfer me back to Dan..- "There is no way for me to give out your call to someone named Dan" -OK so put me with your supervisor- "They are all experiencing high call volume, so I can put you with a specialist, please hold" -Ok- On hold for 10 minutes, now 45, now 1 hour and 25 minutes. I have decided in 5 minutes I will hang up. This is an international call. This company is DISGUSTING. *Specialist* (No Show) This is a company with 14 million in assets, that is stranding a customer, me, in a foreign country with absolutely no options with a VISA set to expire, which make me illegally staying in this country. ALL I wanted was a simple one-time waiving of my change fees to be able to board on the 2nd leg of my flight, or a one-time refund. Now I have used a BUNCH of international minutes waiting on HOLD. I have wasted a night and a day in BRAZIL. And what do I get in the end? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. So I am booking my flight WITHOUT Pricelying and they are going to charge me for my flight that I will not be getting on. They are liers, they are useless, they are a scam. This is THE worst company I have ever dealt with and I will NEVER deal with them again. Horrible customer service, HORRIBLE fees and terms. Deceptive marketing. I WILL be calling again tonight for my Tax refund that I KNOW I can get regardless of anything. I will never use this horrible agency again, all those ads were made in vain, this company is useless and deceptive. ALL THE LIES, I got on the fone at 10am and just got off at 1:20pm (NOT to mention hours last night switching between the Airline and Priceline, all because Pricelying is incompetant). Anything accomplished? Ya I'm never using Priceline again unless they waive my fees, give credit for my flight, or give me a promo code. Hey Priceline maybe you should change your name to PRICELYING... and get CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENTS that KNOW HOW TO DEAL WITH CUSTOMERS; And say 'sent' instead of 'sended'. http://priceline.pissedconsumer.com/why-priceline-sucks-20120619325911.html their greed: http://ir.pricelinegroup.com/annuals.cfm
View full review
Review
#682744 Review #682744 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Priceline Flight Booking
Cons
  • Customer service
  • Did not get what i paid for
  • Marcell
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
Full refund
Tags
  • Flight Changes

Priceline Hotel Terror

2.3
Details
First, the room I received was not inside, it was outside and not as advertised via Priceline. The room was older, smelled stale, and was typically below my standard but I did not argue as I arrived late and was exhausted from my travels. The following day I attended my scheduled events, returned after midnight to find my room had not been serviced. I figured I'd voice my complaint and request towels in the morning. However, at approximately, 2:30AM, someone began to enter my door from the outside with a key. I jumped up in absolute fear yelling to the person "Get the *** away from my door!" I was not dressed, unarmed, surprised, and completely defenseless. The man was startled himself as he stared at me for a moment, shut the door, and yelled through the door that the room had just been rented to him and they gave him the key. I couldn't believe what was happening. I had never heard of such an experience. My heart was pounding and I was utterly confused, troubled, and terribly pissed off. I called the front desk and asked them what were they doing. The employee said he would send security. Five minutes later, a young guy with sagging pants, a soiled and wrinkled t-shirt, and no badge shows up saying he is security. The "security" said he didn't know what was going on. Again, the unprofessional attire, haphazard effort to provide security, and inability to get answers from the front desk or the joke for security was appalling. I didn't feel safe in the room and no one had an answer. I called the front desk again and told them I could not stay in the room. Why did I, a customer, have to give them the idea of giving me an interior room. So, at 3AM, I was upgraded to a suite. I still could not sleep soundly as I was completely frightened by someone entering my room from the outdoors. Can you imagine the terror in an unfamiliar area for the first time? I am greatly disappointed with Priceline at this point. I have reserved my comments, but Priceline's response after voicing my complaint upon my return was not acceptable. Priceline insisted that this was not their problem and I should contact the Pointe Plaza Hotel. Priceline also addressed me by the wrong name in their response. "Smit C." Who in the *** is that? Not only did the hotel not know their room was rented, but Priceline didn't even know the name of the customer. Keep in mind, they have the reservation information and my name is my email address. Maybe Priceline just uses form letters to blow off their customers. I refused to contact the hotel as Priceline acted as the agent for the hotel. It was an absurd request for me to contact anyone. I am thoroughly offended. Adding insult to injury, Priceline emailed, "We apologize for the inconvenience you faced". This wholeheartedly dismisses the terror I experienced when someone opened my door while I was sleeping and maybe speaks to a corporate culture that does not really value its customers. To date, I have not been issued a refund for this dismal experience and you can still book the Pointe Plaza Suites, Newport News, VA on Priceline. It's been three weeks and you would think the 61 Billion Dollar behemoth would actually give a *** about its customers or brand. The fact that Priceline continues to do business with this hotel suggests that corporate culture that cares far less about people and more about profits as they are not afraid to put their customers at risk.
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1032689

Yeah, first of all PL doesn't guarantee room type or in/out location. Secondly they up graded you to a suite.

Suck it up sweetheart and move on.

Yes, PL is the booking agent, but ultimately it's all the hotel's fault.

Review
#682613 Review #682613 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Bad customer service
  • Bait-and-switch tactics
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$158
Preferred solution
Full refund
Tags
  • Horrible customer experience
  • Priceline Poor Response
  • Priceline Customer Terrorized
  • Priceline Dismissed Complaint
2.3
Details
Priceline Collision Damage Coverage Review from Tamarindo, Guanacaste
I purchased collision insurance for a car from economy rentacar in Costa Rica. The insurance was rejected by the vendor, because it doesn't have third party liability. Which in Costa Rica is law. I was required to buy the insurance from the company if I wanted to rent...
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1373213

These 3rd party travel vendors that sell damage waivers (collision coverage) make it look like it's from the car rental agencies. In the real word, $11/day is not always nearly the cost compared to buying it directly from the car rental agency.

Always buy directly. Some or most rental agencies will place renter in a primary position for any damage to the car. This could mean you'll have to cut the check first, even if you have a 3rd party insurance for the car.

Sometimes, certain credit cards cover the 3rd party liability part, but in a foreign country, it depends on the card company. Some personal car insurance companies offer "riders" attached to your policy just to cover a vacation.

Always check before your trip.

Generally speaking, it's hard to get customer service from companies that secure steep discounts. Usually, it is also inflexible.

I work at a car rental agency.

Review
#682572 Review #682572 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service