Show reviews that mention
hotel customer service customer service price room reservation money book refund
Filter review

Priceline - Credit card fraud

Priceline double charged me for a hotel stay. Now this hotel stay was overpriced in the first place -- we're talking tiny smelly rooms with paper thin walls and dirty rugs -- but they had the nerve to charge me twice for it! Normally I wouldn't *** about this sort of thing, but their customer "service" refused to resolve the issue after several weeks. And somehow they've convinced my credit card company that they were in the right about this. How? I will never know. And I will never, ever go back to Priceline. Sorry Captain Kirk, but your site is a fraud.
View full review
ID
#135545 Review #135545 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$300

Priceline.com wants your $ not you

My wife, Rachel, is an Irish citizen. Our daughter, Holly, was born in Ireland and has dual citizenship since I is a US citizen. We purchased airline tickets in July through Priceline's website to visit our family in Ireland over the Christmas holidays. Shortly after the purchase, we realized that Holly's Irish passport will expire in October – meaning Holly will need a US Passport to be able to travel. Before Holly can get a U.S passport, We have to file documents with the US government showing that Holly was born abroad – which takes 6-12 months to process. After those documents are processed, the next step is to file for a social security number… which could take another few months to process! After the social security number is issued, THEN we can apply for Holly's US passport. Our tickets totaled $2,500 – a small amount to a large company such as Priceline but a significant amount to hard-working folks like us! Because they cannot be sure that the proper documentation will be in place by Christmas for our daughter, we would like to cancel the tickets and get a refund. If we cannot obtain a refund, the tickets cannot be used… and 3 seats on that flight will be empty. I would think that under the circumstances (and considering they are giving 4 month's notice), Priceline could refund the money but simply won't because they've got the power to do just that. Can you afford to just toss away $2,500? Not me!! We thought about changing the dates of the flight but were told that to do THAT, it would cost us another $2,500 – DOUBLE the price of the original tickets! It is my understanding that Priceline has a no refund/no change policy. However, someone from Priceline led Rachel to believe that considering her circumstances, an exception could be made. See her email below to Priceline management: RACHEL TO PRICELINE: Please understand that I do not want a call from someone other than one of these executive people. I have sent multiple emails and made many calls about my issue and for some reason, people who have no power to make changes or decisions keep calling me, so I need someone in a position of power to call me. Last night on one of my many phone calls I was informed that this reservation "considering my circumstances" COULD in fact be changed and I have witnesses to the fact that the rep informed me of this. WHY can this be changed and not cancelled??? I need someone to help me. There is going to be no one on that flight in regards to this reservation. I made an error in not paying attention when these were initially bought and as you will see, there are 15 other requests as I was trying to get the best deal. Besides that my daughter's passport is the issue and I cannot get around it. I am asking you person to person to PLEASE help me out. I work very hard for my money and I cannot afford to burn $2500 which is literally what I would be doing. Thank you When Rachel did not receive a response, Brian sent an email…BRIAN TO PRICELINE: Please understand that I do not want a call from someone other than one of the executive people. For some reason, that I do not understand, no one at Priceline.com can dial a phone. My daughter's passport will not let her travel. This is a government issue that I cannot get around. We are aware of the contract because you are a broken record about it. To a large scale company like Priceline, $2500 is a small amount. For a family like ours that is a substantial amount. It can pay for the exact reason that keeps our daughter from being able to travel. You talk about your partners but all airlines I know can cancel flight reservations so why can Priceline not when the seats can be sold to people who can actually travel. Again, we do not want another email. I want to speak with a human being. Preferably one with a soul. XXX-XXX-XXXX is my work number. FINALLY, a response from Priceline: From: priceline.com Executive Offices Date: Fri, Aug 1, 2008 at 9:33 AMSubject: Executive Offices To: Rachel Dear Ms. , Thank you for contacting us regarding your concerns and feedback regarding your airline reservation for Request Number XXXXXXXXXXX. We have previously advised you of our policies regarding your reservation. We wish we could provide the answers you are looking for; however, these policies are directly tied to contractual agreements with our travel partners. This in turn allows us to continue to offer competitive pricing and subsequent savings to our customers. We are truly unable to assist you further in this matter. Please do not expect a response to further correspondence on this issue. Sincerely, Executive Offices The tone of the final email just feels so loving and personal. We called them 60 seconds after the purchase was made. At one stage we were trying to see if they could change my wife's last name on her ticket. The ticket is in her married name but her passport is in her maiden name. After the second supervisor we were told the name could be changed, that they would help us out. As with the airlines we understood that there would be a a fee. The supervisor asked how we would pay so naturally our question is "how much?" The answer we got back was $1,200. Now I ask you, how is that helping out when to change part of a name on a ticket cost more than the ticket itself? Looking online I found that the only time Priceline has refunded tickets was either due to natural disaster in the location or flight canceled and not being able to find a flight leaving the same day. As I have said it is government reasons that we cannot travel on our specified day. In the few conversations that we have had with Priceline makes me feel that if a medical emergency had come up and i was hospitalized, we would still have to pay for the tickets. All I have to say is this If you are going to use Priceline for your travels, be prepared to be on the flight or pay for it any way.
View full review
ID
#131948 Review #131948 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Priceline Flight Booking
Loss
$2

PRICELINE

This trip was the first reserved through Priceline, for June 22 to June 28. On June 26 my mother passed away so we had to leave. I called price line to explain situation, they had to verify death of mother, as if i would be on vacation and want to leave. After numerous calls to custumer relations, custumor service It is now Aug 7 and I am still waiting for credit for the last 2 days lost. I will never deal with company again. I even asked to speak to a manager and I wasn't allowed to.... No compassion whats so ever.
View full review
ID
#130585 Review #130585 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Priceline "Name Your Own Price" Stinks

After checking out rates of hotels in Erie, PA with various travel websites (including Priceline standard booking site), I chose to use the "Name Your Own Price" option (which is prominently thrust in your face at every turn on Priceline.com). When prompted for the "# of Adults", I entered "2" since I have 2 adults and 2 children in our family. After submitting a bid for a hotel room for our vacation, I saw that my bid was accepted and a reservation was made at a hotel chain THAT ONLY HAS 1 BED PER ROOM. I immediately verified this on the hotel website and called Priceline Customer DisService. They explained that the reservation could not be changed. I would have to check with the hotel to see if they could accommodate my reservation and if not, I was to call Priceline back for a change. I called the hotel. They had just received the reservation electronically (took about 20 minutes). They confirmed that they did not have any rooms in the hotel that could accommodate my family. They told me they could not cancel the reservation. Priceline would have to do it. So I called Priceline back (as previously instructed). Imagine my surprise and disappointment to learn that I was now stuck with a 1 bed hotel room for my family of 4 (2 adults, 2 children). I asked, pleaded, etc. with both Customer DisService and a Customer Relations "Specialist" neither of who could assist me. I was given a case # and directed to file a complaint on their website. I filed a complaint with their VP of Customer DisService. The next day, I received a cll back from "Ryan", an "executive officer" of Priceline. He proceeded to explain to me I was stuck with my reservations and that they could not change their policy. It was a "contract" that could not be changed (even though the hotel room had not yet been occupied; my vacation was still 4 days away). After arguing my case (even offering to spend more money with them to take a reservation in another Priceline-serviced hotel)and explaining how dissatisfied I was with their "customer service", I told them that they had lost a customer for life. I also told them I would warn as many others as I can to NEVER USE PRICELINE.COM. Be Forewarned - their practices border on deceitful and their "customer service" is NON-EXISTENT. RUN AWAY AS QUICK AS YOU CAN FROM THESE CROOKS.
View full review
24 comments
Anonymous
#739595

Priceline is a risk but sometimes the reward can be great. I do prefer the Smartairportparking.com name your price option. They don't make you pay (win or lose) unless you're sure, but its only for airport parking.

Anonymous
#738355

Just got ripped off by Priceline. Found cheaper car on another site and was not told I could not cancel my Priceline car.

Customer service was very unhelpful and disrespectful. Priceline is a RIP-OFF!

Anonymous
#567123

I could not agree with you more.. I come from a B2B world and we uphold customer service has a HUGE factor to doing business with my company.. As you stated PRICELINE has zero customer service.

I booked a rental SUV in DENVER for a snowboard trip. Once I booked the icon and vehicle description changed. It went from a Jeep Grand Cherokee to a Ford Edge, which in my opinion is not the same class. I called the rental agency directly to find out about the SUVs in their fleet that would be available. Next I asked if they had roof racks....... Well this is where my issue began, AVIS does not allow anything to be on the exterior of the vehicle, this was to my surprise as most agencies even give the option to rent ski rack/board racks at an add'l cost. So now im screwed and priceline will not change the reservation. I guess I will have to suff the *** into the car drive around the corner and strap up on the roof ha..

never again priceline..

Anonymous
#546357

For all of you complaining about the 'Name your own price', it says so write when you sign away your name that they will give you any room from any hotel that is available. The only things guaranteed are the nights staying, the stars you selected (they may go higher but never lower), and the rate you agreed on.

That is how they get lower rates. Stop crying and learn to read.

Anonymous
#522632

I am so upset and disapointed !! first for not reading this reviews BEFORE booking with priceline !!...We are a family of and got stuck with a room with a king size bed !!

...I have used similar website services before with no problem, but it was until I made the BIG MISTAKE of booking with priceline that I realized how bad this was...We just booked last night, we haven't gone on our trip, and called the hotel to request a non-smoking room , just to realized that we were stuked in a one king size bed room and the hotel offered a $80.00 dlls per night upgrade ... After calling Priceline and talking to their people , hearing the same apology and not been helpful AT ALL!! we got stuck with the problem and had to book a diferent hotel and ended up paying twice as much for our vacation trip !! PLEASE !

PLEASE !!!

STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY !!! :cry :cry :cry :cry :( :( :( :(

Anonymous
#514451

ahte this :cry :zzz

Anonymous
#514450

ahte this :cry :zzz

Anonymous
#511392

I had the same bad experience. Priceline stuck me with a hotel that only had a smoking room and a king bed for my family of 4. It is a design flaw with the "name your own price system" and I will never use it again.

Anonymous
#465571

I have been using Priceline name your own price on hotels for over a year and have always had great luck. Up until the last two times I always got a room with two beds for my family of four.

The last two times though I was put into a room with only a king bed. The first time I contacted the front desk of the Fairfield Inn and they couldn't switch us because they were full so they gave us a complimentary roll away.

The second time they switched us into a room with two beds without me having to complain at all. I always stay at the same hotel in the same town though, so not sure how it would work anywhere else.

Sequoia
#403626

We had the same experience with our two $70.00 voucherse that I earned on priceline... what a scam.

I am so angry about it I also posted a note on this site.

I also tweeted about it and will never use priceline again. Priceline is a SCAM!

View more comments (23)
ID
#130317 Review #130317 is a subjective opinion of poster.
So the title pretty much says it all. I'm looking for a hotel in Austin and agree to $50 a night. Where they put me in the hilton by the airport. I find out parking for the hotel is $20 a day! So now I'm not paying $50 but I'm paying $70. They don't...
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#50675

Hello,

I am an attorney in Los Angeles that represents consumers in Class Actions. Presently we are pursuing a case against Priceline.com and came across your posting on Measured Up.com. If you would be interested in participating in a Class Action or providing me with more information regarding your experience, give me a call at 310.461.1210 or send me an email at mitch@kallawgroup.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Mitch Kalcheim

ID
#129885 Review #129885 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Priceline - LOUSY customer service

Priceline USED to be a great bargain and have good customer service. I recently booked a Sheraton in San Diego and called to confirm the reservation and to arrange for 2 beds since I was traveling with the family (3 kids). I was told that since I booked through Priceline, our "penalty" was we got a room for 5 with 1 king size bed and I'd have to ask for 2 beds when we checked in. Maybe I'll get it, maybe I won't. Depends on "availability". Heaven forbid they try and help me now. I've called ahead to every other hotel I've gotten on Priceline and it's been a non-issue. So now hotels are penalizing priceline customers with this ***? Then the brain dead rep wants to tell me the room is only guaranteed for 2 adults? why enter all the children's info then? It's none of their business if they aren't going to accommodate them. I have yet to see how this plays out. I have a feeling this is my last purchase with priceline and last time as a customer of ANY Starwood based hotel. They better have rollaways available.
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#204757

Priceline sells rooms at a discounted rate and for the rate that you get, you get the "run of the house." Meaning that bed type isn't guaranteed as it is just a leftover needing to be sold.

If the hotel is really full, expect to have bed issues. Ask for a rollaway and if you get stern about your situation they may comp it.

Otherwise, try paying a bit more and get what you pay for. Hotels offer plenty of discounts so just do your research and you could still find a decent deal. Also if you book ahead of time, the better the discounts can be. Last minute reservations mean the best rates are already gone.

Also, I think 5 people violates fire code so I don't recommend getting angry with the hotel because they have that leverage over you.

ID
#128140 Review #128140 is a subjective opinion of poster.

45% added to accepted bid price by PriceLine

Price Line added fees taxes, etc. totaling 45% of my initial accepted low-bid offer for a rental car. This was done without any prior disclosure by Price Line to me. A direct purchase from any of the major automobile rental companies at their conventional prices would have been less expensive. Price Line also states that cancellations are not accepted for any reason. God help you if you get sick and cancel your trip. You will still pay through the nose! You bid, you pay and you pay Price lines' exorbitant fees. To deal with Price-Line is to buy a "Pig in a Poke." Guess who the "Pig' is!
View full review
ID
#127854 Review #127854 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Priceline.com sux!

Priceline.com has a terrible policy of keeping your money for a lengthy amount of time when THEY HAVE MADE AN ERROR! I attempted to rent a car for two weeks, using my debit card (about $350). Unfortunately, I paid for the car at Priceline.com, but was unable to pick it up at the rental car agency. Priceline admitted to their mistake of connecting me with a company that does not allow rentals when using a debit card. You think to yourself, "Simple enough. Please return my money to my debit card and I will work with the company next door, who WILL take my debit card.” WRONG!! Priceline STILL HAS MY $350 and refuses to give it back in a timely manner. I'm told I may have to wait 10 days to 2 weeks while Priceline verifies that I did NOT pick up the car. Umm, won't a quick phone call take care of this? In this economy, if you're renting a car for that amount of money, then the other money you have is budgeted for your *** gas! I did NOT have enough to do another 2-week rental and to put gas in the car while Priceline holds the money hostage! Tomorrow makes 10 days and I still don't have the money back on my card! I understand that companies have policies, but companies should also consider the HUMAN FACTOR in their business. People need their money! Having a policy that basically allows a company to keep a customer's money when the company has made an error is absurd. I did everything right by noting that I would be using a debit card as I bid on my car at Priceline; yet, I have to pay for the company's error. I could understand if they kept the money a day or two while they made sure we did not actually rent the car, but TWO WEEKS!!!!!! Join me in sending a message. Boycott Priceline.com! Stacey
View full review
ID
#126960 Review #126960 is a subjective opinion of poster.
I secured a reservation through Priceline for the first of June, 2008, at a hotel in Arlington Texas. When we arrived on the day of our reservation, we were informed that the hotel was fully booked and so we were moved to another hotel down the street. I paid for a 3...
View full review
4 comments
Anonymous
#546922

I have had bad experience also and very rude people working for them there is no customer service with this company, it is hard to believe that hotels and other businesses use them

View more comments
ID
#126074 Review #126074 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Priceline Customer Care
Loss
$143

Priceline - The worst Company!!

Priceline is the worst company I have ever delt with. They tell you lies then when you catch them they blame you. I made reservations for a car and realized after they had been made that I needed to change the pick up time. Thats ALL I wanted to do. Priceline sent me an email saying and I quote "your dissatisfaction has been noted please do not expect any responses to anymore future emails because you wont get any" unquote. The rental company says a change would be fine but Priceline wont allow changes. They say that the partners wont allow them but its the partner that told me they would welcome any change within 3 business days. Priceline are liars and cheats, do not use them its not worth it.
View full review
ID
#125781 Review #125781 is a subjective opinion of poster.